Books To Read If You Loved The Hunger Games

I read the Hunger Games trilogy last year and loved it.  I didn’t realize at the time that it was considered “dystopian fiction.”  Since then I have read 4 other books that could be called  “dystopian fiction.”  I like to call it, “Books that take place in the future, in a world with different rules than our own, where a young person works through something and ends up fighting the government or leadership of that world”  There is usually a love story to go with.

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

The first book I read was Divergent by Veronica Roth.  From Goodreads, “In a future Chicago, 16-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group and that the society she lives in is not perfect after all.”

I loved the mix of action with relationships in this one.  I am excited because book #2 is coming out in May!

 

Books To Read If You Loved The Hunger GamesThe next book I read was Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn.  From Goodreads, “Sixteen-year-old Kira Moore is a zero, someone who can’t read thoughts or be read by others. Zeros are outcasts who can’t be trusted, leaving her no chance with Raf, a regular mindreader and the best friend she secretly loves. When she accidentally controls Raf’s mind and nearly kills him, Kira tries to hide her frightening new ability from her family and an increasingly suspicious Raf. But lies tangle around her, and she’s dragged deep into a hidden world of mindjackers, where having to mind control everyone she loves is just the beginning of the deadly choices before her”

What I loved most about this one was how the author has so many great details about the world the book took place in.  I also really liked Kira and felt for her.  I am so curious what happens next as this book is supposed to be apart of a trilogy.

Delirium (Delirium #1)

The 3rd book I read after the Hunger Games was Delirium by Lauren Oliver.  From Goodreads, “Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that one love -the deliria- blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demand that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy. But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.”

This one was so different from anything I had read before.  The story was so original.  I really liked the characters in this one too.  The second book in this series comes out in just a couple of weeks.

Uglies (Uglies, #1)And I just finished the Uglies by Scott Westerfield.  From Goodreads, “Everybody gets to be supermodel gorgeous. What could be wrong with that? Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. Not for her license — for turning pretty. In Tally’s world, your sixteenth birthday brings an operation that turns you from a repellent ugly into a stunningly attractive pretty and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time. In just a few weeks Tally will be there.  But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to be pretty. She’d rather risk life on the outside. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. The choice Tally makes changes her world forever.”

I really enjoyed this one!  I don’t want to spoil anything but the book was different than I thought it would be.  You just have to read it for yourself. It is apart of a 4 book series and has book #2 waiting for me 🙂

So if you were a big fan of the Hunger Games, I think you will like these books.  I know I did 🙂  And if you have any books to recommend like these, please do. I am always up for hearing about new books.

And please connect with me on Goodreads if you haven’t already!  I love that site!

 

 

(Visited 22 times, 1 visits today)

Comments

Tell me what you think!

2 thoughts on “Books To Read If You Loved The Hunger Games”

  1. Thanks for the recommendations! I've read all but the 4th book in the Uglies series and I love them! My sister-in-law is writing a dystopian series that I actually really enjoy. The first one is called Matched and it's by Ally Condie. Two of the three are out now and the third is expected to be published in November.

  2. Thank you soooo much for sharing! I looooved the Hunger Games, and have a real thing for dystopian books as well, so I'll definitely be checking these ones out.

Leave a Comment